About Us

What We Stand For · Equity

Update

 
About Us

Equity

Equity Statement

OSSTF/FEESO is a democratic union that recognizes the importance of encouraging and supporting involvement by all members, while recognizing that some members have historically been marginalized. For the Federation to be at its best, all members must see themselves reflected in its goals, structures, and practices. OSSTF/FEESO will strive to identify and eliminate barriers to participation through programs, procedures, bylaws, and policies supported by specified resources and education.

OSSTF/FEESO supports equity, diversity, and social justice within the union, the workplace, and in broader society.

Not all discrimination is deliberate or visible. Inadvertent, hidden, and systemic discrimination must be identified and addressed.

Discrimination and harassment must not be ignored when we see it. Overt discrimination and harassment within the Federation must be challenged and rectified.

The marginalization of certain groups must be specifically recognized. For OSSTF/FEESO, these groups include, but are not necessarily limited to, women, people of colour, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, queer, intersexed, questioning, two-spirited, First Nations, Inuit, Métis, people with disabilities, francophones, and those whose participation is impeded because of economic circumstances or family status.

Equal opportunity to participate in the Federation does not mean treating all members the same. Within a democratic framework, promoting the engagement of members of equity-seeking groups is a valid and necessary approach to reaching equal outcomes.

OSSTF/FEESO will be guided in its efforts to eliminate barriers by valid research, regular review, and consultation with the membership.

Federation programs and policies designed to eliminate barriers must not only do so, they must be widely seen to do so.

Related Attachments

À propos de nous

Nos valeurs · Égalité

Update

 
À propos de nous

Égalité

Déclaration en matière d’égalité

OSSTF/FEESO est un syndicat démocratique qui reconnaît l’importance d’encourager et de soutenir la participation de tous les membres tout en convenant que certains de ses membres ont été traditionnellement exclus. Pour que la Fédération excelle, tous les membres doivent se retrouver dans ses buts, ses structures et ses pratiques. OSSTF/FEESO s’efforcera d’identifier et de supprimer les obstacles à la participation grâce à des programmes, procédures, règlements et politiques soutenus par des ressources spécifiques et de la formation.

OSSTF/FEESO appuie l’égalité, la diversité et la justice sociale au sein du syndicat, en milieu de travail et dans la société.

La discrimination n’est pas toujours délibérée ou visible. La discrimination volontaire, cachée et systémique doit être identifiée et résolue.

La discrimination et le harcèlement ne doivent pas être ignorés lorsqu’on en est témoin. La discrimination et le harcèlement flagrants au sein de la Fédération doivent être arrêtés et corrigés.

L’exclusion de certains groupes doit être clairement reconnue. Pour OSSTF/FEESO, ces groupes comprennent notamment, mais sans s’y limiter, les femmes, les personnes de couleur, les lesbiennes, les gais, les bisexués, les transgenres, les intersexués, les personnes en questionnement, les bispirituels, les Premières nations, les Inuits, les Métis, les personnes handicapées, les francophones et ceux dont la participation est entravée en raison de circonstances économiques ou de la situation familiale.

Une chance égale de participer au sein de la Fédération ne signifie pas forcément traiter tous les membres sur le même pied d’égalité. Dans un cadre démocratique, soutenir la participation des membres des groupes à la recherche d’égalité est une approche valable et nécessaire pour atteindre l’égalité des résultats.

OSSTF/FEESO sera guidé dans ses efforts pour supprimer les obstacles par de la recherche, un examen régulier et de la consultation avec les membres.

Les programmes et les politiques de la Fédération visant à supprimer les obstacles doivent non seulement être efficaces, mais être largement reconnus comme l’étant. 

Pièces jointes connexes