OSSTF/FEESO Home

Services · Member Services

Update

 
Services

Member Services

As an OSSTF/FEESO member, you have ready access to a wide range of services. They span the personal, professional and protective needs of all members.

Certification

If you are a teacher or an occasional teacher and have not applied for an OSSTF/FEESO Certification Rating Statement, ask your branch president (representative) for an application form. The Rating Statement will determine your placement on the salary grid in the teacher collective agreement.

Local services

Many local bargaining units or districts have a permanent office with full-time staff. The local organization will provide you individually with advice and assistance. First and foremost among the objects of OSSTF/FEESO is the protection of members, both individually and collectively. In order to carry out this objective, your local bargaining unit or district has a number of committees to serve you, including:

  • Collective Bargaining
  • Educational Services
  • Status of Women
  • Communications/Political Action.

Many local units also provide a Long Term Disability Plan, Employee Assistance Program (EAP) or other benefits and services. Ask your branch representative for information on the services in your district or bargaining unit.

Provincial office services

OSSTF/FEESO’s Provincial Office operates in three major areas: protective services, educational services and communications/political action. Staff at Provincial Office offer advice, assistance and training in the areas of:

  • pensions - both OMERS and TPP;
  • grievances and arbitrations;
  • professional colleges;
  • health and safety;
  • employment insurance;
  • pay equity;
  • workers’ compensation (WSIB);
  • human rights;
  • scholarships, grants and awards;
  • professional growth issues;
  • French language services;
  • educational finance

Provincial office provides support and assistance to all local bargaining units upon request in all OSSTF/FEESO activities.

You can also view our constitution, bylaws, and Policies & Procedures Manual. These documents define your rights, privileges and responsibilities as a member, and a provide full set of Federation policies and procedures.

Educational Services

The Educational Services department is responsible for issues related to teacher education, testing, curriculum, resource books, educational research, professional colleges and special education. The department administers scholarships and bursaries, and sponsors professional conferences and workshops. It also manages the work of two OSSTF/FEESO councils - Parliamentary and Constitution and Judicial, and the Educational Services Committee.

Protective Services

Protective Services staff, in conjunction with the Collective Bargaining Committee, assist members of local districts in all aspects of negotiating collective agreements and maintaining the agreements once in place. Training is provided on health and safety, negotiations, grievance and arbitrations and education finance through conferences and regional meetings. The department also gives direct assistance to members on employment insurance, pensions, benefits and WSIB issues.

Communications/Political Action

The Communications/Political Action Department is responsible for communications, both internal and external; public relations; media relations; political action; legislative research; lobbying and awards. Training is provided at conferences and regional meetings.

Three provincial committees assist the department: Communications/Political Action, Human Rights and Status of Women. In addition, the Mediation Services Resource Bank is accessed through this department.

OSSTF/FEESO publishes Update, a newsletter for all members, every three weeks. Education Forum, a periodical, is issued three times per year. The provincial OSSTF/FEESO website provides a wealth of valuable information.

Whom to call...

Do you have problems, concerns, questions? Do you need advice, or assistance? Find out who your workplace representative is from other employees. They will be able to direct you to your local bargaining unit officer who will give you the assistance you require or direct you to the Provincial Office field secretary assigned to your bargaining unit.

If you wish, call the Provincial Office directly at 1-800-267-7867 and ask for the Duty Officer. The Duty Officer will put you in touch with your field secretary or help you if the field secretary is not available.

Remember that OSSTF/FEESO exists to serve the membership - do not be afraid to request assistance. Never resign under pressure! Check with OSSTF/FEESO first. You have the right to representation In any interview with the employer or its agents regarding your job performance, you have the right to have a representative of OSSTF/FEESO appear with you on your behalf.

Your collective agreement

The collective agreement, negotiated by your bargaining unit with your employer, defines your entire working relationship with your employer. It contains vital information regarding your salary and pay dates; your benefit plans; your holiday entitlement; maternity and other leave plans; seniority; posting procedures; transfers; working conditions; and other matters that affect your day-to-day working life. Ask your workplace representative for a copy of the collective agreement. It is your guarantee of protection and security.

The grievance procedure

Remember that the collective agreement has been negotiated. Both the bargaining unit and the employer have an obligation to enforce the terms of the agreement. If there is disagreement about what the agreement means, or if you believe your treatment by the employer violates the terms of the agreement, the grievance procedure should be used to ensure that what has been negotiated is maintained. Contact your workplace representative immediately! The grievance procedure is a problem-solving device to resolve differences between the employer and the employee. From the first step of the procedure to the last step of arbitration, OSSTF/FEESO will be there to represent you.

Most collective agreements contain a “just cause” clause which prohibits the employer from acting in an arbitrary manner with regard to firing, demoting or disciplining an employee.

Page d'accueil OSSTF/FEESO

Services · Services aux membres

Update

 
Services

Services aux membres

En tant que membre d’OSSTF/FEESO, vous avez accès à toute une gamme de services pour répondre à vos besoins personnels et professionnels de même que pour vous protéger.

Certification

Si vous êtes enseignant ou enseignant suppléant et que vous n’avez pas encore rempli une déclaration d’évaluation de la certification d’OSSTF/FEESO, il vous suffit de demander un formulaire à votre présidence ou représentant d’unité. La déclaration d’évaluation déterminera votre placement sur la grille salariale de votre convention collective d’enseignant.

Services locaux

De nombreux districts et unités de négociation ont des bureaux permanents avec du personnel à temps plein. L’organisation locale vous apportera, individuellement, des conseils et de l’aide. Les objectifs d’OSSTF/FEESO sont d’abord et avant tout la protection de ses membres, tant au niveau individuel que collectif. Pour le mener à bien, votre unité de négociation ou votre district a un certain nombre de comités à sa disposition, y compris :

  • Négociation collective
  • Services éducatifs
  • Statut de la femme
  • Communication/action politique

Plusieurs unités offrent également un régime d’invalidité de longue durée, un programme d’aide aux employés (PAE) ou d’autres avantages sociaux et services. Demandez des renseignements à votre représentant sur les services dans votre district ou unité de négociation.

Services du Bureau provincial

Le Bureau provincial d’OSSTF/FEESO offre trois types de services : les services de protection, les services éducatifs et les services de communications/action politique. Le personnel du Bureau provincial offre des conseils, du soutien et de la formation dans les domaines suivants :

  • pensions – à la fois RREMO (OMERS) et RRE (TPP)
  • griefs et arbitrages
  • ordres professionnels
  • santé et sécurité
  • assurance-emploi
  • équité salariale
  • indemnisation des accidentés du travail (CSPAAT/WSIB)
  • droits de la personne
  • bourses d’études, subventions et prix
  • épanouissement professionnel
  • services en français
  • financement de l’éducation

Le Bureau provincial fournit son appui et son aide pour toutes les activités d’OSSTF/FEESO et ce, à toutes les unités de négociation qui en font la demande.

Vous pouvez également consulter nos statuts, règlements et Manuel des politiques et procédures. Ces documents définissent vos droits, vos privilèges et vos responsabilités en tant que membre et vous fournissent toute une série de politiques et procédures de la Fédération.

Services éducatifs

Le Secteur des services éducatifs est responsable des questions touchant la formation du personnel enseignant, l’évaluation, le programme d’études, les cahiers pédagogiques, les recherches en éducation, les ordres professionnels et l’éducation de l’enfance en difficulté. Le Secteur gère les bourses d’études et les subventions et parraine des conférences et des ateliers professionnels. Il dirige également le travail de deux conseils d’OSSTF/FEESO : parlementaire et constitutionnel et judiciaire ainsi que du Comité des services éducatifs.

Services de protection

Le personnel du Secteur des services de protection, en collaboration avec le Comité de négociation collective, prête main-forte aux membres des districts dans tous les aspects de la négociation des conventions collectives et de leur maintien une fois en place. Grâce à des conférences et des rencontres régionales, de la formation est dispensée sur la santé et la sécurité, les négociations, les griefs et l’arbitrage ainsi que sur le financement de l’éducation. Le Secteur vient également en aide aux membres qui sont aux prises avec des problèmes d’assurance-emploi, de pensions, d’avantages sociaux et d’indemnisation des accidents du travail.

Communications/action politique

Le Secteur des communications/action politique est chargé des communications, tant internes qu’externes, des relations publiques, des relations avec les médias, de l’action politique, des recherches législatives, du lobbying et des prix. De la formation est offerte lors de conférences et de rencontres régionales.

Trois comités provinciaux assistent le Secteur : Communications/action politique, droits de la personne et statut de la femme. De plus, on peut accéder à la Banque des ressources en services de médiation à partir de ce secteur.

OSSTF/FEESO publie Update, un bulletin destiné aux membres, toutes les trois semaines. Education Forum, un périodique, est publié trois fois par année. Le site Web provincial d’OSSTF/FEESO fournit une mine de renseignements utiles.

Qui appeler...

Vous avez des problèmes, des préoccupations, des questions? Vous voulez des conseils ou de l’aide? Demandez à vos collègues quel est votre représentant en milieu de travail. Ceux-ci vous orienteront vers l’agent de votre unité de négociation qui vous aidera ou qui vous mettra en rapport avec le membre du Secrétariat au Bureau provincial responsable de votre unité de négociation.

Vous pouvez même appeler directement le Bureau provincial au 1-800-267-7867 et demander à parler l’agent de service qui vous indiquera le membre du secrétariat responsable de votre unité ou qui vous prêtera main-forte si cette personne n’est pas disponible.

N’oubliez pas qu’OSSTF/FEESO est là pour aider ses membres. Il ne faut donc pas hésiter à faire appel à ses services. Ne démissionnez jamais sous la pression! Consultez d’abord OSSTF/FEESO. Vous avez le droit d’être représenté dans toute rencontre avec l’employeur ou ses agents au sujet de votre rendement au travail. Vous avez le droit qu’un représentant d’OSSTF/FEESO vous accompagne et agisse en votre nom.

Votre convention collective

La convention collective, que votre unité a négociée avec votre employeur, définit vos relations de travail avec votre employeur. Vous y trouverez des renseignements essentiels notamment sur votre rémunération et les dates de paie, vos avantages sociaux, votre allocation de jours de congé, les congés de maternité et les autres régimes de congé, l’ancienneté, la procédure d’affichage des postes, les mutations, les conditions de travail et toute autre question qui touche votre travail quotidien. Demandez à votre représentant en milieu de travail de vous faire parvenir un exemplaire de votre convention collective. Cette convention est le document qui vous protège et garantit votre sécurité.

Procédure de grief

N’oubliez pas que votre convention collective est le fruit de négociations. L’unité de négociation comme l’employeur sont tenus de respecter les dispositions de cette convention. En cas de problèmes d’interprétation ou si vous estimez que votre employeur a enfreint l’une des dispositions de la convention, la procédure de règlement des griefs permet de veiller au maintien de ce qui a été négocié. Communiquez immédiatement avec le représentant de votre milieu de travail! La procédure de règlement des griefs a été établie pour résoudre les différends qui se présentent entre l’employeur et ses employés. OSSTF/FEESO vous représentera à toutes les étapes de cette procédure et même jusqu’à l’arbitrage. La plupart des conventions collectives contiennent une clause portant sur les « motifs valables » qui empêche l’employeur d’agir de façon arbitraire lors d’un congédiement, d’une rétrogradation ou de l’imposition de mesures disciplinaires à un membre.