

## MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release: Monday, March 10, 2025

Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation elects historic new leadership to strengthen schools and protect students

New Provincial Executive to Begin Two-Year Term on July 1, 2025

TORONTO, ON – On Sunday, March 9, 2025, Representatives of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF/FEESO) elected a new Provincial Executive to represent the more than 60,000 members of the Federation. The elected officials will start their two-year term on July 1, 2025.

Those elected were Martha Hradowy, President; Malini Leahy, Vice-President; Colin Matthew, Vice-President; Jeff Denys, Treasurer; Roxanne Beauchamp, Executive Officer; Sherry-Ann Bowen-Gordon, Executive Officer; and Chris Chandler, Executive Officer.

<u>Martha Hradowy</u> was elected President of OSSTF/FEESO and is a developmental service worker from District 9, Greater Essex. This is an historic win as Martha Hradowy is the first-ever education worker elected as President of OSSTF/FEESO.

Malini Leahy, a teacher from District 2, Algoma, was re-elected as Vice-President.

Colin Matthew, a teacher from District 15, Trillium Lakelands, was elected as Vice-President.

Jeff Denys was acclaimed as Treasurer and is a teacher from District 8, Avon Maitland.

Roxanne Beauchamp, a cultural facilitator from District 32, Centre-Sud-Ouest de l'Ontario, was re-elected as Executive Officer.

Sherry-Ann Bowen-Gordon was re-elected as Executive Officer and is a speech-language pathologist from District 16, York Region.

Chris Chandler was elected as Executive Officer and is a teacher from District 12, Toronto.

Additionally, the Table Officer and Governors representing OSSTF/FEESO at the Ontario Teachers' Federation (OTF) were elected as follows:

Mike Foulds, a teacher from District 7, Bluewater, was acclaimed as OTF Table Officer.

Andy Adzic, a teacher from District 9, Greater Essex, was re-elected as OTF Governor.

Robert Deonarine, a teacher from District 19, Peel, was elected as OTF Governor.

Kelly McCarthy, a teacher from District 20, Halton, was re-elected as OTF Governor.

Adrienne McEwen, a teacher from District 26, Upper Canada, was elected as OTF Governor.

Rebekkah Wilkin, a teacher from District 11, Thames Valley, was re-elected as OTF Governor.

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has over 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, early childhood educators, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, university support staff, and many others in education.

-30-

Contact: Caitlin Reid

Media and Communications Advisor

Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

Caitlin.Reid@osstf.ca

416-576-8346