OSSTF/FEESO Awards of Recognition for Members

OSSTF/FEESO Provincial Member Award Winners — 2015/2016 · Jennifer MacLean Health and Safety Award 2015/2016



Jennifer MacLean Health and Safety Award 2015/2016

Daniel Peat – District 22 Niagara

OSSTF/FEESO and the Health & Safety Workplace Safety Insurance Act Committee are proud to award the Jennifer MacLean Health & Safety Award to Daniel Peat from District 22.

Daniel has been an OSSTF/FESSO member for 20 years and has provided leadership as a Bargaining unit & District President, as well as the President of the Niagara Regional Labour Council.  He has served on the District School Board of Niagara’s Health & Safety Committee since 1997, has been worker co-chair twice during his career. Since 1999, Daniel has completed countless Health & Safety inspections at various sites within the School Board.  He became a certified Health & Safety committee member in 1993 and has continued to take Workers Health & Safety Centre training workshops including the 30 hour Level 1 Health & Safety, 30 hour Level 2 Law training and numerous three (3) hour Hazard Awareness Modules.

Daniel has consistently advocated for Health & Safety training to be delivered by the Workers Health and Safety Centre and, as Labour Council President, he supported the establishment of the Niagara Regional Labour Council’s Summer School, which is now entering its third year.

Congratulations Daniel